Un-enrolling Your iOS Device

You are now going to un-enroll the iOS device from Workspace ONE UEM.

NOTE: The term "Enterprise Wipe" does not mean reset or completely wipe your device. This only removes the MDM Profiles, Policies, and content which the Workspace ONE Intelligent Hub controls.

It will NOT remove the Workspace ONE Intelligent Hub application from the device as this was downloaded manually before the user enrolled in to Workspace ONE UEM.

1. Enterprise Wipe (Un-Enroll) Your iOS Device

Enterprise Wipe (un-enroll) your iOS device

Enterprise Wiping will remove all the settings and content that were pushed to the device after it was enrolled.  It will not affect anything that was on the device prior to enrollment.

Return to the Workspace ONE UEM Console,

  1. Click Devices
  2. Click List View
  3. Click the checkbox next to the device you want to Enterprise Wipe
  4. Click More Actions
  5. Click Enterprise Wipe

2. Enter your security PIN

Enter your security PIN.

After selecting Enterprise Wipe, you will be prompted to enter your Security PIN which you set after you logged into the Workspace ONE UEM console to 1234.

  1. Scroll down until you see the Security PIN input
  2. Enter 1234 for the Security PIN. You will not need to press enter or continue, the console will confirm your PIN showing "Successful" below the Security PIN input field to indicate that an Enterprise Wipe has been requested.  

NOTE: If 1234 does not work, then you provided a different Security PIN when you first logged into the Workspace ONE UEM Console.  Use the value you specified for your Security PIN.

NOTE - If the Enterprise Wipe does not immediately occur, follow the below steps to force a device sync:

  1. On your device, tap the Workspace ONE Intelligent Hub application
  2. Tap This Device
  3. Tap Send Data near the top of the screen.  If this does not make the device check in and immediately un-enroll, continue to Step #4.
  4. If the above doesn't make it immediately un-enroll, then tap Connectivity [Status] under Diagnostics.
  5. Tap Test Connectivity at the top of the screen.

NOTE: Depending upon Internet connectivity of the device and responsiveness of the lab infrastructure, this could take a couple of minutes or more if there is excessive traffic occurring within the Hands On Lab environment.

Feel free to continue to the "Force the Wipe" step to manually uninstall the Workspace ONE UEM services from the device if network connectivity is failing.

3. Verify the Un-Enrollment

Verify the Un-Enrollment

Return to the device springboard. Notice that any applications pushed through Workspace ONE UEM  have been removed from the device.  In addition, navigating to Settings > General > Profiles will show that the Workspace Services profile has been removed from the device and any configurations pushed have been reverted.

NOTE: The Workspace ONE Intelligent Hub will still be on the device because that was downloaded manually from the App Store. Due to lab environment settings, it may take some time for the signal to traverse through the various networks out and back to your device. Continue on to the next step to force the wipe if the needed.

4. Force the Wipe - IF NECESSARY

If your device did not wipe, follow these instructions to ensure the wipe is forced immediately. Start by opening the iOS Settings app.

  1. Tap General in the left column.
  2. Scroll down to view the Device Management option.
  3. Tap Device Management at the bottom of the list of General settings.

4.1. Force the Wipe - IF NECESSARY

Tap the Device Manager profile that was pushed to the device.

4.2. Force the Wipe - IF NECESSARY

  1. Tap Remove Management on the Workspace Services profile
    NOTE: If prompted for a device PIN, enter it to continue
  2. Tap Remove on the Remove Management prompt

After removing the Device Manager profile, the device will be un-enrolled.  Feel free to return to the Verify the Un-Enrollment step to confirm the successful un-enrollment of the device.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.